jump to navigation

Good bye, Myriad. May 13, 2009

Posted by ramunas in cancer genetics.
trackback

Yes, that happened. A lawsuit against Myriad BRCA patents in USA. The plaintiffs include Breast Cancer Action, The American College of Medical Genetics, the Association for Molecular Pathology, the College of American Pathologists, the American Society for Clinical Pathology, individual researchers, patient advocacy groups, genetic counselors, and individual women. Hey guys, I am with you!

The monopoly that Myriad Genetics now enjoys (at least in USA) due to these patents reduces consumer choice and removes the competitive incentives regarding price, quality assurance, or improvement of the tests (just remember the case with large scale deletions which previous  Myriad tests just missed before 2002). In my opinion human gene patents are intrinsically flawed – you can patent a technology and tools (e.g. test) but not a (natural) sequence.

In Europe there was (and still is) strong opposition against Myriad monopoly (alas this year they infringed patents for commercial use in largest European countries).

For those overseas – there are more cheaper testing options available via dedicated networks, like Gendia or Diagnogene.

Comments»

1. Josh - September 30, 2009

I like your site, great info, keep it up.

2. colon cleansing los angeles - December 5, 2009

I agree! Thanks.

3. Sharon - January 22, 2010

Hi,

My name is Sharon Ray and I am the assistant editor of Cysticfibrosis.net. I am contacting you today in hopes of developing a relationship with your website; we have seen your site and think your content is great. Cysticfibrosis.net offer a free informational resource to both the general and professional public on this terrible disease.

I hope you show some interest in building relationship, please contact me at sharon.cysticfibrosis.net@gmail.com.

4. ricky - April 25, 2010

wooow, new information for me. visit my blog too I wait your comment

5. ProArticlesDaily - May 12, 2010

Great site! I totally agree with you


Leave a Reply

